Burglary is a severe offense in Iowa. It applies to a broad spectrum of deeds and carries multiple options for punishment.
If you have a burglary charge, you need to know what to expect. This article details the various punishments for different degrees of burglary in Iowa.
According to Chapter 173, third-degree burglary is an aggravated misdemeanor for the first offense if the site was an empty motor vehicle. Otherwise, a third-degree burglary is a class D felony. Class D felonies may carry up to five years and a fine.
Burglary in the second degree occurs when an armed perpetrator enters an occupied building with no one present. It also occurs if an unarmed person enters an occupied building with one or more individuals present, and no harm occurs. These crimes classify as class C felonies. Punishment for class C felonies can include ten years in prison and a fine.
A person who commits first-degree burglary faces a class B felony. Class B felonies carry up to 25 years in prison with a mandatory minimum of 70 percent. First-degree burglaries occur when a person enters an occupied premise with one or more individuals present. In addition, one or more of the following must apply:
- The accused possesses a dangerous weapon
- The accused have an explosive device
- The accused injures a person
- The accused commits sexual abuse
Burglary charges significantly impact your life. If you have a burglary charge against you, consult with an attorney right away. The consequences might cost your family and ruin your career opportunities.