Many states have legalized marijuana. However, some states and the federal government have not legalized this substance.
Therefore, as you move from state to state, or even travel among states, you should understand the drug laws in your area. This is what you should know about marijuana possession in Iowa.
Legality in Iowa
Marijuana is not legal in Iowa. In fact, if you get caught with this illegal substance, you could face a misdemeanor charge. In addition, you could face a felony charge if you have an amount that the courts consider “intent to distribute.” If you get caught selling to a minor, your charges increase significantly. Iowa also prevents the cultivation and growth of marijuana and prohibits paraphernalia, such as pipes and bongs.
Types of possession
Actual possession occurs when you have this substance on your body, such as in a pocket.
Constructive possession occurs when you do not have this drug on your person, but you know where to find it and have access to it. For example, if some of this product is in your vehicle, but it is not on your person, you may still face charges of possession.
Possession conviction penalties include fines of up to $8,540 in fines plus court costs and jail time of up to two years in prison for the first through third misdemeanor offenses. Distribution convictions range from $7,500 to $1,000,000 in fines and prison time from one to 50 years depending on the amount you have in your possession. You can face greater penalties if your arrest occurs in or within 1,000 feet of a school zone.
Possession in Iowa is not legal under any circumstances, so you cannot purchase this controlled substance in a state where it is legal and bring it into Iowa.