Under Iowa law, it is illegal for you to have a controlled substance in your possession. If you face charges for drug possession, you might have to spend time in jail. You may also have to pay a fine.
The law in Iowa has a separate category of punishment related to marijuana.
Requirements for a conviction
For the prosecution to prove you are guilty, they must show that you knew that the drugs were in your possession. The prosecutor must also show that you knew the drugs were illegal. The third element of proof is that you had control over the substance.
Punishment for marijuana
Possession of marijuana is a misdemeanor crime in Iowa. The judge will determine the amount of jail time and the amount of your fine based on various factors. For a first offense, you could receive a sentence of up to six months and jail and face a fine of up to $1,000.
Sanctions for other drugs
The law makes the crime more severe for the number of times you get caught for possession of other drugs. If it is your first offense, you can face a misdemeanor charge with up to one year in jail and $2,560 in fines. For a second offense, the crime is also a misdemeanor with a maximum of two years in prison and $8,540 in fines. Multiple violations can lead to a felony charge with five years in prison.
Drug possession is a serious crime that can lead to jail time and crushing fines.